Our Victorian home has been an important part of Minden for over a century and a half. The main house was constructed of stacked timber in 1866. An addition was built in 1885 by 3rd owner, Englishman Michael Brown (top left in this 1892 photo) who served the township as treasurer, school trustee, postmaster and justice of the peace, occupying the house for 45 years.
In about 1935, owners Dick and Laura Kirkwood built a number of cabins on the property which they named “Laurdic Tourist Accommodation” (1935 to 1980) to accommodate visitors to the Highlands.
It was renamed “Minden House” by water colour artist Marion Hill and her husband Stan who owned and operated the business in the 1980s.
We purchased Minden House in 2001 and for 16 years operated as Minden House B&B and Cottages. As of January 2018 we continue to offer self-catering accommodation in our five cottages, however the B&B is officially closed.
- Nestled on the Gull River in the quaint village of Minden, Ontario.
- Easy walking distance to town centre, restaurants, shopping, banks, community centre, art galleries, museum, fairgrounds, hospital.
- Close to public beaches, boating, fishing, golfing, Minden Whitewater Preserve, childrens’ camps, hiking, snowshoeing, skiing, snowmobiling trails, famous Kawartha Dairies ice cream.
- Easy scenic drive to Haliburton Forest, and Algonquin Park
- Bicycles, BBQ’s, picnic tables, canoe, fire pit, snowshoes, cable TV/DVD and WIFI high speed internet are included for your enjoyment.